© 2019 St. Charles Hall

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

ORIGINS OF THE VILLA

 

The name "St. Charles" was established in 1895, when the estate served as a rest home for French clergymen. In 1921, the German-English couple Tonio and Marie-Harriet von Riedemann bought the villa, which has since been referred to as the "Villa St. Charles Hall". Tonio von Riedemann came from one of the richest entrepreneurial families in Hamburg.

 

The couple commissioned architect Alber Fröhlich to redesign the villa complex. Thus, the still existing, neo-baroque mansion emerged. As a passionate collector of art and antiques, Marie-Harriet von Riedemann designed the villa - from antique sculptures in the park to large-scale tapestries, valuable paintings to stylish furniture and porcelain.

 

After the death of his wife in 1933, who suffered from diabetes, Tonio von Riedemann lived rather withdrawn at the Villa St. Charles Hall, where he died in 1941 at the age of 68 years. After that, the villa was empty for six years, because neither the nieces nor the descendants had the intention to move into the villa.

In 1947, the St. Gallen couple Paul and Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt acquired the property (picture). Paul Fischbacher came from the dynasty of a St. Gallen linen manufacturer and rejected the leadership of the company. He invested his bailout in stocks and securities and had a securities portfolio of more than 16 million francs. Gertrud Fischbacher also had an articulated taste for art. She designed the rooms further and added paintings, pompous vases, other furniture and rugs to the collection.

 

In 1959, Paul Fischbacher died during a voyage in Asia. His ashes were buried in the in-house chapel at Villa St. Charles Hall. Even before his death, the childless couple had already considered the idea of ​​making their property available to the public. In 1960, at the age of 77, Gertrud Fischbacher established a foundation under the name "St. Charles Hall Foundation Paul and Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt "with the purpose of "...for official receptions, artistic events, exhibitions and other occasions." For the maintenance and fulfilment of the Foundation's purpose In addition to the property, she left a sum of 1.5 million francs.

 

In 1962 Trudy Fischbacher-Labhardt died. The entire estate with property, fixed assets, gold, cash, jewelry, etc. amounted to about 20 million francs. In addition to the donation of the villa to the private foundation in 1962, she bequeathed a large part of the property to the children's hospital Lucerne. In the mid-1960s, the Board of Trustees began implementing the founder's will - with unique concerts, encounters between artists, statesmen and politicians, as well as events for companies and private individuals.

FAMOUS GUESTS

Hollywood stars, top musicians and heads of state: numerous personalities from culture, politics and society were guests at the Villa St. Charles Hall.

Especially as a venue for classical music, the villa has an excellent acoustic. Among the best-known musicians who have performed here include Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sir James Galway, Vanessa Mae and Anne-Sophie Mutter. The Music Conservatory Lucerne and the foundation for young music talents Meggen have been performing in the villa for years.

 

The Villa St. Charles Hall also served as a movie location. Richard Burton and Vanessa Redgrave shot part of the series about the life of Richard Wagner in the mansion. Also for many other film productions, the villa was used as location.

 

Other famous guests include Dalai Lama, Roman Herzog, German Federal President, Mauro Koivisto, Finnish President and numerous federal and state councillors.

ILLUSTRATED BOOK ST. CHARLES HALL

 

The origin of the Villa St. Charles Hall, the activity of the Foundation as well as reports on the arts, handicrafts and cultural events: The illustrated book "St. Charles Hall" tells stories  and shows in numerous illustrations the unique collection and the prominent visitors who were guests at the Villa St. Charles Hall. The book was published in 2012 on the 50th anniversary of the death of Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt, founder of the foundation "Paul and Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt".

 

"St. Charles Hall "

Illustrated book ISBN 978-033-03663-5

Price CHF 50, -

Purchase via St. Charles Hall administration

ST. CHARLES HALL

ILLUSTRATED BOOK

History and stories around the  Villa St. Charles Hall.

Price: CHF 50,-

plus   CHF 7,- shipping costs within Switzerland

© 2019 St. Charles Hall

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

ENTSTEHUNG DER VILLA

 

Der Name der Villa „St. Charles“ entstand 1895, als das Gut als Erholungsheim für französische Geistliche diente. 1921 kaufte das deutsch-englische Ehepaar Tonio und Marie-Harriet von Riedemann die Villa, welche seitdem als„ Villa St. Charles Hall“ bezeichnet wird. Tonio von Riedemann stammte aus einer der reichsten Unternehmerfamilie Hamburgs.

Das Ehepaar beauftragte den Architekten Alber Fröhlich, die Villenanlage neu zu gestalten. So ist unter anderem der heute noch bestehende, neobarocke Herrschaftsbau entstanden. Als leidenschaftliche Kunst- und Antiquitätensammlerin richtete Marie-Harriet von Riedemann die Villa ein – von antiken Skulpturen im Park über grossflächige Tapisserien (Gobelins), wertvollen Gemälde bis hin zu stilvollen Möbeln und Porzellan.

Nach dem Tod seiner Ehefrau im Jahr 1933, die an Diabetes litt, lebte Tonio von Riedemann eher zurückgezogen in der Villa St. Charles Hall, wo er 1941 im Alter von 68 Jahren starb. Danach blieb die Villa sechs Jahr leer, denn weder die Nichten noch die Nachfahren hatten die Absicht, in die Villa einzuziehen.

1947 erwarb das St. Galler Ehepaar Paul und Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt das Anwesen (Bild). Paul Fischbacher stammte aus der Dynastie eines St. Galler Tisch- und Bettwäscheherstellers und verzichtete auf die Führung des Unternehmens. Die Auszahlung dafür legte er als Financier in Aktien und Wertschriften an und hatte so ein Wertschriftenportefeuille von mehr als 16 Millionen Franken. Gertrud Fischbacher hatte ebenfalls einen ausgeprägten Kunstsinn. Sie gestaltete die Räume weiter aus und ergänzte die Sammlung mit Gemälden, Prunkvasen, weiteren Möbeln und Teppichen.

1959 verstarb Paul Fischbacher während einer Schiffsreise in Asien. Seine Asche wurde in der hauseigenen Kapelle in der Villa St. Charles Hall beigesetzt. Das kinderlose Ehepaar hatte sich bereits vor dessen Tod mit dem Gedanken befasst, ihren Besitz der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. 1960, im Alter von 77 Jahren, errichtete Gertrud Fischbacher eine Stiftung unter dem Namen „St. Charles Hall-Stiftung Paul und Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt“ mit dem Zweck, „unser Gut St. Charles Hall dem Kanton Luzern für offizielle Empfänge, künstlerische Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen und andere Anlässe zur Verfügung zu halten.“ Für den Unterhalt und die Erfüllung des Stiftungszweckes vermachte sie nebst dem Anwesen einen Betrag von 1,5 Millionen Franken.

1962 starb Trudy Fischbacher-Labhardt. Der gesamte Nachlass mit Grundstück, Anlagevermögen, Gold, Barschaft, Schmuck etc. belief sich auf rund 20 Millionen Franken. Nebst der Schenkung der Villa 1962 an die private Stiftung vermachte sie einen Grossteil des Vermögens dem Kinderspital Luzern. Mitte der 1960er-Jahre begann der Stiftungsrat, den Willen der Stifterin umzusetzen – mit einmaligen Konzerten, mit Begegnungen zwischen Künstlern, Staatsmännern und Politikern sowie mit Anlässen für Firmen und Private.​​​

BERÜHMTE GÄSTE

Hollywood-Stars, Spitzenmusiker und Staatshäupter: Zahlreiche Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur, Politik und Gesellschaft waren Gäste in der Villa St. Charles Hall.

Insbesondere als Veranstaltungsort für klassische Musik hat die Villa einen hervorragenden Klang. Zu den bekanntesten Musikerinnen und Musikern, welche hier gastierten, gehören unter anderem Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sir James Galway, Vanessa Mae und Anne-Sophie Mutter. Die Musikhochschule Luzern mit Konzerten und die Stiftung für junge Musiktalente Meggen gastieren seit Jahren immer wieder in der Villa.

Auch als Filmkulisse diente die Villa St. Charles Hall. Richard Burton und Vanessa Redgrave drehten in der Villa ein Teil der Serie über das Leben von Richard Wagner. Auch für viele weitere Filmproduktionen wurde die Villa als Kulisse genutzt.

Weitere berühmte Gäste waren Dalai Lama, Roman Herzog, deutscher Bundespräsident, Mauro Koivisto, finnischer Staatspräsident sowie zahlreiche Bundesräte und Regierungsräte.

BILDBAND ST. CHARLES HALL

Die Entstehung der Villa St. Charles Hall, die Tätigkeit der Stiftung sowie Berichte über die Kunst, das Kunsthandwerk und die kulturellen Veranstaltungen: Der Bildband „St. Charles Hall“ erzählt Geschichte und Geschichten und zeigt in zahlreichen Bildern die einzigartige Sammlung und die vielen prominenten Besucherinnen und Besucher, welche als Gäste in der Villa St. Charles Hall waren. Das Buch wurde 2012 zum 50. Todestag von Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt, der Gründerin der Stiftung “Paul und Gertrud Fischbacher-Labhardt”, herausgegeben.

„St. Charles Hall“
Bildband ISBN 978-033-03663-5
Preis CHF 50,-

Bezug via Verwaltung St. Charles Hall

ST. CHARLES HALL

DAS BUCH

Geschichte und Geschichten rund um die Villa St. Charles Hall.

Preis: CHF 50,-

zzgl.    CHF 7,- Versandkosten